How I Turned Social Media from a Useless Distraction into a Source of Inspiration

It’s all about the algorithm

Owen Lloyd
3 min readAug 4, 2022
Photo by Szabo Viktor on Unsplash

I used to spend hours every day mindlessly scrolling through social media.

I always refused to download TikTok, but I ended up watching the same sort of stuff through Instagram reels or YouTube shorts instead.

I was just wasting my time, sometimes hours daily, watching absolutely useless crap.

Unfortunately, social media is filled mostly with useless crap these days. People aren’t often rewarded for quality content. The stuff that gets seen by millions is usually a cat video or someone doing a stupid dance trend.

Finding the value in social media

I have experimented with deleting all my social media, but that didn’t always go as planned, I often just downloaded it again in a moment of boredom or weakness. After these failed attempts of ridding my life of social media. I tried a different approach.

I realised that there is value in social media, you just have to find it.

Fortunately, if you actually want to change the face of your Instagram, TikTok, or YouTube, it’s extremely easy. The apps will actually do it for you.

--

--

Owen Lloyd

I write about philosophy, self improvement and how we should live our lives on this strange planet.